Our BDI course is approved by the State of Florida (DHSMV)
Basic Driver Improvement, or Florida traffic school, is a 4-hour defensive driving course that a driver can elect (volunteer) to attend after receiving a Florida traffic ticket (moving violation). This course is fully approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and accepted by all Florida courts.
The benefits of the course are:
• No points on driving record. Points are not assessed. A notation is placed on the driving record that adjudication was withheld for the offense.
• Prevents auto insurance from increasing. Specifically, Florida law states that if a driver completes a BDI course, his or her auto insurance company cannot raise the policy rate, cancel the policy or non-renew it based on the offense unless the driver was found at fault in a crash (§626.9541, F.S.).
• Keeps "Safe Driver" notation on driver license. This applies if the driver already had a safe driver notation before receiving the ticket.
If you are a CDL holder or you were cited for speeding more than 30 MPH over the limit, you may not elect to attend traffic school. Also, you may not elect if you have already elected for a previous ticket within the past 12 months, or if you have elected five times within 10 years.
Notifying the Clerk of the Court
If you wish to go to traffic school for a Florida ticket, you must notify the court. Usually this means sending in the affidavit form that was included with the ticket. Some counties also allow a driver to notify them in person, over the phone, online, or by fax. You should contact the clerk of the court for the county in which you were ticketed to learn their procedures for traffic school election. You will also have to send your completion certificate in to the clerk of the court after you have finished the course.
Other Reasons for Attendance
In addition to voluntarily attending for a Florida ticket, you may take the BDI course for the following reasons:
• Court Ordered. If you contested your Florida ticket and the judge or court ordered you to attend a 4-hour driver improvement course, you should select this reason for attendance.
• Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC). TCAC students will have received a letter from the Florida DHSMV ordering them to attend a BDI course. TCAC letters are sent out for particular situations, such as two crashes within two years or crashes involving injuries.
• Reckless Driving, Road Racing, Etc. Drivers who have received a letter from DHSMV regarding road racing, passing a stopped school bus, reckless driving, or running a red light are required to attend a BDI course.
• Auto Insurance Discount. Florida law allows an auto insurance discount of up to 10% for completing a DHSMV approved BDI course. In order to receive the discount, you must first obtain permission from your auto insurance provider. (Note that BDI is not a mature driver course.)
Copyright * 2001-2015 Florida Online Driver School (sm), All rights reserved
Designed and Hosted by Florida Online Design Services
All of Our traffic Courses are APPROVED by the
State of Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Serving Tampa, Miami, Jacksonville, Orlando, St. Petersburg, Pensacola, Tallahassee and all of Florida's 67 counties.