Copyright * 2001-2018 Florida Online Driver School (sm), All rights reserved
Designed and Hosted by Florida Online Design Services
All of Our traffic Courses are APPROVED by the
State of Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Serving Tampa, Miami, Jacksonville, Orlando, St. Petersburg, Pensacola, Tallahassee and all of Florida's 67 counties.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI)?
Advanced Driver Improvement, or "ADI", is a mandatory 12-hour course that must be taken for any of the following reasons:
• Suspended / Revoked License – If your Florida driver license has been suspended or revoked, you must take the ADI course to get back your license. Also, you must show proof of enrollment in an ADI course before you can apply for a hardship license. When you take your ADI course online, you can get your proof of enrollment letter right away (for an extra fee) so that you can get your hardship license faster.
• Habitual Traffic Offender – Any driver who has been categorized as a Habitual Traffic Offender ("HTO") must complete an ADI course.
• Court Ordered – If a Florida judge has ordered you to complete a 12-hour program, you must take the ADI course.
Is this course approved by the State of Florida?
Yes, this online ADI course is fully approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). This course is offered by Driver Training Associates in partnership with American Safety Institute. The course provider, DTA, has been a DHSMV approved traffic school since 1977
Can I take the ADI course in fewer than 12 hours?
No. Per State law, the ADI course requires a minimum of 12 hours to complete. The 12 hours consists of 10.5 hours of actual study time and 1.5 hours for breaks. After your first six hours of course activity, you must wait 24 hours before you can finish the course. This is a state requirement that applies to all online ADI courses.
Can I print my certificate of completion?
No. Your ADI certificate of completion is not printable. You must turn the original certificate in to the driver license office or to the court (if you were court ordered to attend).
If I don't choose express delivery, when will I get my certificate?
After you finish the course, American Safety Institute will review your record to make sure no information is missing. This can take up to 24 hours. After that, your certificate will be sent using the delivery method you have selected. Certificates are mailed from Tallahassee, Florida. Certificates sent via standard U.S. mail usually take from 2-5 business days to reach our customers.
I am unable to print my proof of enrollment letter.
If you paid for electronic delivery of your proof of enrollment letter and you are unable to print it, please contact American Safety Institute at 1-800-800-7121 and explain that you are unable to print your letter. ASI can change your method of delivery to fax and fax the letter for you.
Where do I get proof of enrollment?
Your proof of enrollment in the ADI course is in the form of a letter that is mailed to you after you register for the course. If you need your proof of enrollment fast to get a Florida hardship license, you can pay an additional charge ($9.95) to print out your letter immediately after registration. (You must have a printer connected to your computer in order to select this option.)
Do you report my completion to the State of Florida?
Suspended License / HTO – If you are taking the ADI course for a suspended license or HTO, your completion will be reported to the Florida DHSMV within 24 hours after you finish the course. Your completion will be reported by the course host, American Safety Institute. If you have a question about completion reporting, you can call American Safety Institute at 1-800-800-7121. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST, Saturday 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM EST.
Court Ordered – If you are taking the course because of a court order, you will be required to turn your certificate in to the court on or before your deadline date. Your completion will NOT be reported by the school.
How do I contact tech support?
American Safety Institute provides technical support for the online ADI course. They can be reached at 1-800-800-7121. Support hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST, Saturday 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM EST.
How do I get a refund?
If you have registered for the course shortly before your due date and you believe that you will not be able to complete the course in time, you might be able to obtain a date extension from the court. If this is an option that you had not already considered, please bear in mind that many courts do not advertise that they allow a grace period for completions, or that they might accept a certificate that is received after your due date as long as it has been postmarked before your due date.
To request a refund or ask a payment question, please contact Driver Training Associates at 1-800-222-9199. We are open Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST.
How long do I have to take this course?
For most customers, if the ADI course is not completed within 90 days from the date of registration, the school will report a non-completion to DHSMV and your license will be suspended again. You must complete the course within 180 days from your date of registration. After 180 days, your course access will be suspended.
Can you turn off the timers in the course?
No. The course timers are in place to make sure each student spends the required minimum amount of time in the course. Once you have completed a session, you can always go back to it by clicking on it through the course status page. You can review any previously completed session without any timer.
Why am I being asked for a password to log in?
DTA customers should have a single login code for the online ADI course, not a separate user name and password. If you are being asked for a password, simply enter your login code in both the user name and the password field.
Is express certificate delivery available?
Yes. If you need your certificate fast to meet a deadline, you can select the method of delivery during registration or click on the "change shipping" button on your account page once you are in the course. You can also call American Safety Institute at 1-800-800-7121 to request express delivery. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST, Saturday 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM EST.
Can I change my registration information after I have started the course?
Yes. After you log into the course you will be taken to an account summary page that has your name at the top of the page, the course for which you registered, and all of the registration information. Click on the "Edit Answers" button next to the registration data and you can make any necessary changes. If you are having any other problems, please contact customer support at 1-800-800-7121 Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST.