Copyright * 2001-2018 Florida Online Driver School (sm), All rights reserved

Designed and Hosted by Florida Online Design Services

hits
counter

All of Our traffic Courses are APPROVED by the
State of Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Serving Tampa, Miami, Jacksonville, Orlando, St. Petersburg, Pensacola, Tallahassee and all of Florida's 67 counties.

Florida Online Basic Driver Improvement Course

Register Now $29.95

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this course approved by the State of Florida?

Yes. This 4-hour online Basic Driver Improvement course is fully approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) for all Florida counties. The course offered is Driver Training Associates' Program for Driver Improvement. The course provider, DTA, has been a DHSMV approved traffic school since 1977

What is Basic Driver Improvement (BDI)?

Basic Driver Improvement, or Florida traffic school, is a 4-hour defensive driving course that a driver can elect (volunteer) to attend after receiving a Florida traffic ticket (moving violation). The benefits of the course are:

• No points on driving record. Points are not assessed. A notation is placed on the driving record that adjudication was witheld for the offense.

• Prevents auto insurance from increasing. Specifically, Florida law states that if a driver completes a BDI course, his or her auto insurance company cannot raise the policy rate, cancel the policy or non-renew it based on the offense unless the driver was found at fault in a crash (§626.9541, F.S.).

• Keeps "Safe Driver" notation on driver license. This applies if the driver already had a safe driver notation before receiving the ticket.

Attendance Restrictions

If you are a CDL holder or you were cited for speeding more than 30 MPH over the limit, you may not elect to attend traffic school. Also, you may not elect if you have already elected for a previous ticket within the past 12 months, or if you have elected five times within your lifetime. You can click here to determine your eligibility for traffic school attendance.

Notifying the Court of Traffic School Election

If you wish to go to traffic school for a Florida ticket, you must notify the court. Usually this means sending in the affidavit form that was included with the ticket. Some counties also allow a driver to notify them in person, over the phone, online, or by fax. You should contact the clerk of the court for the county in which you were ticketed to learn their procedures for traffic school election.

Reporting Your Completion to the Court

If you elect to attend traffic school for a Florida ticket, you are required to report your completion of the course to the clerk of the court for the county in which you were ticketed. You will need to follow the court's instructions for reporting your completion.

Can I elect Basic Driver Improvement if I have a CDL?

BDI election is explained in §318.14(9), Florida Statutes. Per Florida law, CDL holders may not elect to attend traffic school for a Florida ticket, regardless of the type of vehicle they were driving when they were ticketed. However, Florida law permits a driver to contest his or her ticket in court, and judges will sometimes allow the ticketed driver to attend a BDI course for ticket dismissal. A CDL holder who has been given permission by a court to attend this course should select "Court Ordered" as the reason for attendance.

Can I change my registration information?

You cannot change your registration information while you are in the course, but after you pass the final exam, you will have the opportunity to review certain fields (such as driver license number, citation number, etc.) that will be printed on your certificate. If necessary, you can change this information at that time.

Can I get my completion certificate delivered electronically?

Yes. During registration and after you complete the course, you will have the opportunity to pay a small fee for electronic delivery of your completion certificate. You will be able to download your certificate immediately after payment has been received and you have passed your final exam. We recommend this option for anyone who needs to meet a court deadline quickly.

Note: If you select this option, please be advised that you will need to have access to a working printer in order to print your certificate.

How is my completion reported?

If you selected Basic Driver Improvement or Court Ordered as your reason for attendance, you will need to turn your certificate in to the clerk of the court for the county in which you were ticketed to receive credit for the course. We recommend that you make a copy of your certificate for your records.

If you selected TCAC, Racing on Highway, Reckless Driving, Passing a Stopped School Bus, or Running a Red Light as your reason for attendance, we will report your completion. You do not need to send anything to DHSMV.

If you selected Insurance Discount or Business and Industry / Fleet Training as your reason for attendance, you will need to turn your certificate in to your auto insurance provider or safety manager, whichever is applicable.

Do you offer express shipping?

Yes. During registration and after you complete the course, you will see the available express shipping options. If you are in a hurry, the fastest way to get your certificate is by selecting the electronic delivery option.

Can you fax my certificate to the court?

If you would like for us to fax your completion certificate to the court, please contact the court first to obtain their permission. Be sure to get the court's fax number and the name of the person who will receive the fax.

Next, call DTA at 1-800-222-9199 between the hours of 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM Eastern Standard Time. You will need to pay a small fee to have your certificate faxed to the court. Fax orders are taken up to 2:00 PM and we cannot guarantee that the court will receive or acknowledge the fax transmission. It will be your responsibility to make sure the court received the fax from us.

Note: We recommend faxing of your completion certificate only as a last resort. Not all Florida courts will accept a fax. As an alternative to faxing, some courts might permit an extension of your due date if you have waited until the last minute to send in your certificate.

How can I get in touch with a live person?

For fastest service, please call our Florida customer support number: 1-800-222-9199. You can also send an e-mail to info@ticketschool.com. Our office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Eastern Standard Time.

Is the course all reading?

No, unlike most Florida traffic school courses, ours uses video and interactive Flash cartoons to keep you interested in the material. The course is written in a clear, simple style that makes it easy to understand for all students, even those for whom English is a second language. Most users comment that they are surprised by how user friendly our driver improvement course is!

I lost my login code. How can I get it back?

If you lose your login code, go to the course login page. You will see a box that says "I forgot my login." Enter your driver license number in the box and click the "Remind Me" button. Your login code will be sent to the e-mail address you provided when you registered for the course. If you are unable to retrieve your login code, please contact us for assistance.

How does the money back guarantee work?

DTA offers a 100% money back guarantee for our BDI course. If you are dissatisfied with the course for any reason, you can contact us for a full refund of your course fee within seven (7) days of registration provided that you have not yet attempted the final exam.

Partial refunds will be given within eight (8) to twenty-one (21) days after registration provided that the final exam has not been attempted. Please consult the acknowledgments page during registration for complete details regarding our cancellation / refund policies.

How long is the course?

Per State requirements, the course requires a minimum of four hours to complete. Page timers are used to ensure that each student spends the required amount of time in the course. Please note that some students read more quickly than others, so we appreciate your patience if you reach the end of a page before the timer has expired.

You can log in and out as many times as you need, and we keep track of your progress so you never lose any of your work. You must complete the course within 180 days from your date of registration. After 180 days, your course access will be suspended.

Why do I have to answer security questions?

During registration, you will be required to answer a number of security questions (e.g. "Have you ever been to Europe?"). You will be asked the same questions again at random points in the course, and you will be required to respond correctly within a certain time. These questions are required by DHSMV to validate the identity of the person taking the course. If you miss three questions, you will be disqualified from the course and prompted to contact us for further instructions.

What score is required to pass the final exam?

A score of at least 80% is required to pass the 40-question final exam. (You are not allowed to miss more than eight questions.) If you do not pass on your first try, you can take the exam up to three times before you will be prompted to contact us for further assistance. Most customers pass on their first or second attempt.

What is your mailing address?

Our mailing address is Driver Training Associates, 37 3rd St. SW, Suite 210, Winter Haven, FL 33880. If you are paying for your course by mail, please write "Attention: Payment Processing" in the address field. After we receive your payment, we will notify you via e-mail that you can access the course.

What is a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)?

Traffic Collision Avoidance Course is another name for the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course. Most drivers who fall into this category will have received a letter from DHSMV ordering them to attend a TCAC course because they have been involved in two traffic crashes within a two-year period, a crash involving at least $500 property damage, or a crash in which injuries occurred.

Failure to attend a TCAC course can result in cancellation of your Florida driver's license. If you select this reason for attendance when you register for the BDI course, DTA will report your completion to DHSMV after you successfully complete the course. You will not be required to send anything to DHSMV.

TCAC course attendance is different from BDI course elective attendance or court ordered attendance.

What is court ordered BDI attendance?

If you select "Court Ordered" as your reason for BDI course attendance, this means that you contested your Florida traffic ticket in court and the judge gave you permission to attend traffic school for ticket dismissal, or the judge is requiring that you attend a BDI course. Note that Basic Driver Improvement is a 4-hour course, not an 8-hour course.

Who should select "Racing on Highway" as a reason for attending this course?

This option should only be selected if you were cited for this offense and then received a letter from the DHSMV ordering you to attend a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course (§322.0261[4], F.S.). However, if you were cited for this offense and you have not yet received a letter, you may elect to attend the course by selecting "Basic Driver Improvement" as your reason for attendance.

Who should select "Reckless Driving" as a reason for attending this course?

This option should only be selected if you were cited for this offense and then received a letter from the DHSMV ordering you to attend a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course (§322.0261[4], F.S.). However, if you were cited for this offense and you have not yet received a letter, you may elect to attend the course by selecting "Basic Driver Improvement" as your reason for attendance.

Who should select "Passing a Stopped School Bus" as a reason for attending this course?

This option should only be selected if you were cited for this offense and then received a letter from the DHSMV ordering you to attend a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course (§322.0261[4], F.S.). However, if you were cited for this offense and you have not yet received a letter, you may elect to attend the course by selecting "Basic Driver Improvement" as your reason for attendance.

Who should select "Running a Red Light" as a reason for attending this course?

This option should only be selected if you were cited for this offense and then received a letter from the DHSMV ordering you to attend a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course (§322.0261[4], F.S.). However, if you were cited for this offense and you have not yet received a letter, you may elect to attend the course by selecting "Basic Driver Improvement" as your reason for attendance.

Can I get an auto insurance discount for attending this course?

Florida law (§627.06501, F.S.) allows an auto insurer to offer a discount to any driver who completes a Basic Driver Improvement course voluntarily (meaning not as the result of a ticket or court order). Not all companies offer this discount, so please contact your auto insurance provider before you select this option to find out if you are eligible. Insurers may grant a discount up to 10% over a 3-year policy period.

Who should select "Business and Industry" as a reason for attending this course?

This option is available if a driver has been ordered by his or her supervisor or safety manager to complete a defensive driving program. DTA's Program for Driver Improvement course has been used successfully by hundreds of companies and organizations as a means to reduce losses relating to traffic crashes and fines from violations. This course has been research proven effective in government traffic safety studies spanning three decades.

Register Now $29.95

Top of Page

FloridaOnlineDriverSchoollogopng
Register Now $29.95Register Now $29.95