Copyright * 2001-2015 Florida Online Driver School (sm), All rights reserved
Designed and Hosted by Florida Online Design Services
All of Our traffic Courses are APPROVED by the
State of Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Serving Tampa, Miami, Jacksonville, Orlando, St. Petersburg, Pensacola, Tallahassee and all of Florida's 67 counties.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is this course approved by the State of Florida?
Yes. This 4-hour online learner's permit course is fully approved by the State of Florida (Florida DHSMV). This course is required for any Florida teen prior to getting a first driver license per §322.095, F.S. It is also required for any adult driver who has never had a driver's license. The course provider, DTA, has been a DHSMV approved traffic school since 1977
Is this the same type of course as the "DATE" or "DATA" course?
Yes. DATE and DATA are other names for the Florida learner's permit course. Our course is called "START" – Student Training Alcohol Related Topics. This course is also sometimes called a drug and alcohol course because the course material covers drugs, alcohol, and driving.
How long is the course?
Per state law, the course requires a minimum of four hours to complete. Actual course time varies according to the student's reading speed. You must complete the course within 180 days from your date of registration. After 180 days, your course access will be suspended.
Is the course all reading?
No. Most Florida learner's permit courses are all reading. Our course has videos, animations, and many colorful graphics. Our students prefer this learning style to courses that are 100% reading!
How much does it cost?
You will see the price for the course during registration.
Does the course have to be completed in one sitting?
No, you can log in and out of the course whenever you like and it will keep track of your progress. The course can be taken from any computer and is available 24 / 7 / 365. You must complete the course within 180 days from your date of registration. After 180 days, your course access will be suspended.
I lost my login code. How can I get it back?
If you lose your login code, go to the course login page. You will see a box that says "I forgot my login." Enter your e-mail address in the box and click the "Remind Me" button. Your login code will be sent to your e-mail account. If you have trouble finding the e-mail, check your junk or spam folder. If you are unable to retrieve your login code, please contact us for assistance.
Can I take my driver license test online?
You will soon be able to take your driver license test online through our company. The online test is currently in development and will be released soon on this website. Please check back periodically for test availability. In the mean time, you can take your test in person at your local Florida driver license or tax collector's office.
How do I pay for the course?
We recommend that you pay online using our secure payment form. This will allow you to begin the course right away. You can also pay by check or money order, but you will not be given access to the course until your payment is processed.
Why do I have to answer security questions?
Personal validation questions are required by the State of Florida to make sure the course is being taken by you and not by someone else. Pay close attention to the answers you give during registration, as you will be required to provide the same answer during the course. If you miss three security questions, you will fail the course. An example of a security question is "Do you own a pet?"
How old do I have to be to take the course?
You can take the learner's permit course before your 15th birthday, but you must be at least 15 to apply for your Class E Learner's Permit (restricted license).
How does the refund policy / money back guarantee work?
DTA offers a 100% money back guarantee for our Florida learner's permit course. If you are dissatisfied with the course for any reason, you can contact us for a full refund of your course fee within seven (7) days of registration provided that you have not yet attempted the final exam.
Partial refunds will be given within eight (8) to twenty-one (21) days after registration provided that the final exam has not been attempted. Please consult the acknowledgments page during registration for complete details regarding our cancellation / refund policies.
Can I change my registration information?
You cannot change your registration information while you are in the course. If you need to change your information, please call DTA at 1-800-222-9199 for assistance before you attempt the final exam.
Does the course have a final exam?
Yes. There is a DMV-required 40-question final exam based on the course material. The exam has an open book feature. A score of 80% is required to pass and you are given multiple attempts. The exam has a 99.9% pass rate.
If I have been licensed in another U.S. state, do I need this course?
No. The course is required only for people who have never had a U.S. driver license in any state. Some adults who have been licensed in another country might be required to take this course. If you are not sure, check with your local driver license office.
How is my completion reported?
Once you pass the final exam, a certificate of completion will be e-mailed to you. We will also report your completion electronically to the Florida DHSMV. You can use the State's Traffic School Completion Check page to see if your START course completion is showing up in the State's database.
How can I get in touch with a live person?
For fastest service, please call our toll free Florida customer support number: 1-800-222-9199. You can also send an e-mail to email@example.com. Our office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Eastern Standard Time.
What is your mailing address?
Our mailing address is Driver Training Associates, 37 3rd St. SW, Suite 210, Winter Haven, FL 33880. If you are paying for your course by mail, please write "Attention: Payment Processing" in the address field. After we receive your payment, we will notify you via e-mail that you can access the course.